Vent New location

Please find announcements regarding the servers and forum in here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Cosa Nostra
Forum Member
Posts: 1333
Joined: March 1st, 2008, 2:02 pm
Favorite Game: Team Fortress 2
Location: Girls gone Wild
Contact:

Vent New location

Post by Cosa Nostra » January 26th, 2009, 6:25 pm

Vent has been moved to a location,this was news to me as well.
new ip is 206.196.113.50 port is 3819
Image ImageImage

User avatar
C r o s b y
The Beast
Posts: 3439
Joined: April 22nd, 2008, 5:42 pm
Favorite Game: Call of Duty 2
Xfire Name: ptwarriors315
Location: Pittsburgh
Contact:

Re: Vent New location

Post by C r o s b y » March 2nd, 2009, 1:17 am

hey i connected and stuff but it says this...

Failed to get encoder specified Codec.

This client platform currently supports only the Speex codec. The server and/or channel is configured to use the 'GSM 6.10' codec.

plz help me, thanks.

and i can get on the vent server but when i try to switch channels thats what it says. and i can't hear anybody talking and i don't think it lets me talk. idk why. i'm on a mac, could that be the reason?
Wave goodbye to your head, wanker!

[URL=http://img156.imageshack.us/i/228018101 ... 43568.jpg/]Image

Image

Image

Image

User avatar
Grenade71822
Posts: 1344
Joined: March 2nd, 2008, 2:37 am
Favorite Game: World of Warcraft
Xfire Name: Grenade71822

Re: Vent New location

Post by Grenade71822 » March 5th, 2009, 5:17 pm

2 things.
1. Speex is a much better codec.
2. Mac does not have gsm because it is microsoft.

I would chnage the codec to

Code: Select all

Speex (16 KHz, 16 bit, 9 Qlty) 4344 bytes/sec
A bullet might have your name on it, but a Grenade is addressed to "Whom it may concern."
I wish you good fortune in whatever avenue of life you assault with your presence.
Image
Image

User avatar
C r o s b y
The Beast
Posts: 3439
Joined: April 22nd, 2008, 5:42 pm
Favorite Game: Call of Duty 2
Xfire Name: ptwarriors315
Location: Pittsburgh
Contact:

Re: Vent New location

Post by C r o s b y » March 5th, 2009, 5:35 pm

i chose that in Setup. then i went back and still i connected and saw the green voice thingies but i couldn't hear. i put it on what you said and then it changed back.
Wave goodbye to your head, wanker!

[URL=http://img156.imageshack.us/i/228018101 ... 43568.jpg/]Image

Image

Image

Image

User avatar
Grenade71822
Posts: 1344
Joined: March 2nd, 2008, 2:37 am
Favorite Game: World of Warcraft
Xfire Name: Grenade71822

Re: Vent New location

Post by Grenade71822 » March 6th, 2009, 12:53 am

Oh thats my bad. I wasn't clear enough. The codec on the SERVER needs to be changed. This can be done 2 ways.
1. Change the whole server to said codec.
2. Change the codec for the channel you are using.
Again my bad PT.
A bullet might have your name on it, but a Grenade is addressed to "Whom it may concern."
I wish you good fortune in whatever avenue of life you assault with your presence.
Image
Image

User avatar
Sneaky Sniper
Forum Member
Posts: 6716
Joined: March 25th, 2008, 5:54 pm
Favorite Game: Call of Duty 2
Xfire Name: sneakysniper100
Location: <Insert Address>

Re: Vent New location

Post by Sneaky Sniper » April 26th, 2009, 12:40 pm

ptwarriors315 wrote:hey i connected and stuff but it says this...

Failed to get encoder specified Codec.

This client platform currently supports only the Speex codec. The server and/or channel is configured to use the 'GSM 6.10' codec.

plz help me, thanks.

and i can get on the vent server but when i try to switch channels thats what it says. and i can't hear anybody talking and i don't think it lets me talk. idk why. i'm on a mac, could that be the reason?


I dont mess with vent but it could be that you dont have permission to like in Teamspeak.
Image
Image
Spoiler:
Sundown wrote:Sai donated his money for this and Sneaky is donating his good time. And you guys are bitching about it.
Cansei De Ser Sexy wrote: cause i belive in the Integrity of the admins who say he dont hack .
layer .AU sneaky .
i belive in his words
cause they show to us they are good people
Shotty wrote:on the other side of the coin, I just wanted to let you know I look to see if you and Sneaky are in the games on CoD4 everytime I join the server. I know that the games will be fun if you two are around......just my 2cents worth
"Step your game up guys... Show me guys that I didn't make a mistake. Show me that your worth counting on. Show me that you can do, what we do." - Melfice_Elstang

Post Reply